Site Rating:
1 rating

Portrait Artist of the Year

Portrait Artist of the Year is hosted by UK TV personalities Joan Bakewell and Frank Skinner; an esteemed group of judges travel across the Europe in search of a new star in the art world. Each episode features a regional competition where artists are shortlisted and challenged to produce a portrait of one of three famous sitters. At the end of each round, the judges select an artist to go to the semifinal. The finalists will have their work displayed at the world-famous National Portrait Gallery in London and the winner will receive a ?10,000 commission to paint a portrait which will become part of the permanent collection at the British Library. With judges and onlookers examining their every move, the artists face new challenges at each phase of the competition while painting such famous "sitters" as Sir Ian McKellen, Hilary Mantel, John Hannah, Sophie Turner, Simon Weston, Sophie Dah

Join the Community!

Track and react with millions of Portrait Artist of the Year
fans just like you on TV Time.

TV Time


First Aired: November 5, 2013
Air Day: Tuesday
Air Time: 8:00PM
Runtime: 60 minutes
Network: Sky Arts
Genre: Reality


Specials 1 2 3 4 All


Fan Art



There are no actors for this series