Home / Series / A Very British Romance With Lucy Worsley / Aired Order /

All Seasons

Season 1

  • S01E01 Episode 1

    • October 8, 2015
    • BBC Four

    Lucy's romp through three centuries of love's rituals begins with the Georgian age, when the rules of courtship were being rewritten. Traditionally, marriage had been as much about business as love. Now, a glamorisation of romantic love inspired women and men to make their own romantic choices - they could flirt in newly-built assembly rooms, or elope to Gretna Green as an act of romantic rebellion.

  • S01E02 Episode 2

    • October 15, 2015
    • BBC Four

    Lucy Worsley discovers how medieval chivalry shaped Victorian courtship.

  • S01E03 Episode 3

    • October 22, 2015
    • BBC Four

    Lucy Worsley concludes her series by looking at attitudes to romance in the 20th century.