Home / Series / Casanova (1971) / Aired Order /

All Seasons

Season 1

  • S01E01 Steed in the Stable

    • November 16, 1971
    • BBC One

    After being arrested and charged with "foul atheism" and fornication, Casanova is sentenced to five years imprisonment at "The Leads": the most notorious of Venetian gaols. Brutalised by Lorenzo the gaoler and devoid of hope under the harsh prison regime, Casanova's mind wanders back to his past loves and adventures. He finds himself haunted by the memory of Christina, a simple country girl he gave to another rather than marry her himself.

  • S01E02 One at a Time

    • November 23, 1971
    • BBC One

    Casanova receives a new cellmate in the form of Schalon, a corrupt insurance broker, and reflects on his seduction of three daughters at a house in Grenoble.

  • S01E03 Magic Moments

    • November 30, 1971
    • BBC One

    Casanova is irritated by his constantly complaining cell mate Schalon and remembers how he once pretended to be a magician casting a spell to seduce the virgin daughter of an old naïve man.

  • S01E04 Window, Window

    • December 7, 1971
    • BBC One

    The episode flashes back and forward between Casanova trying to seduce Anne Roman-Coupier, even though his friend strongly discourages this, and him trying to receive some books while being in prison. He is also haunted by memories of watching a man being executed and him smashing a window with a stone in Venice.

  • S01E05 Fevers of Love

    • December 14, 1971
    • BBC One

    While in his prison cell, Casanova is tormented by fever dreams and flashbacks to his past loves and especially his stay in London.

  • S01E06 Golden Apples

    • December 21, 1971
    • BBC One

    This episode flashes back and forward between Casanova finally managing to escape from his prison cell and him trying to write his memoires in Castle of Duchcov near the end of his life as an old, dying man.