Home / Series / Edward and Mrs Simpson / Aired Order /

All Seasons

Season 1

  • S01E01 The Little Prince

    • November 6, 1978
    • ITV

    Edward, Prince of Wales, meets Lady Furness and, in East Africa, goes on a private safari with her. Back in England, she becomes hostess at his residence at Fort Belvedere and introduces him to Wallis Simpson.

  • S01E02 Venus at the Prow

    • November 15, 1978
    • ITV

    In part 2, Edward's growing infatuation with Wallis creates scandal. In Biarritz the couple cross the boundary between friendship and love.

  • S01E03 The New King

    • November 22, 1978
    • ITV

    In part 3, George V has died. Ernest Simpson tells Edward that Wallis has to choose between them.

  • S01E04 The Divorce

    • November 29, 1978
    • ITV

    Wallis's divorce is heard at Ipswich, Stanley Baldwin pressures Edward and Beaverbrook persuades the press to keep quiet.

  • S01E05 The Decision

    • December 6, 1978
    • ITV

    Edward refuses all advice including warnings that press silence cannot last.

  • S01E06 Proposals

    • December 13, 1978
    • ITV

    Harmsworth suggests that if Wallis marries Edward she should not take on his rank or succession.

  • S01E07 The Abdication

    • December 20, 1978
    • ITV

    Final part of the seven episode dramatisation of the romance between Edward, Prince Of Wales, and Mrs. Wallis Simpson.