Home / Series / Lifestories: Families in Crisis / Aired Order /

All Seasons

Season 1

  • S01E01 The Secret Life of Mary Margaret: Portrait of a Bulimic

    • August 1, 1992
    • HBO

    Mary-Margaret lives the perfect life and when she can't deal anymore she becomes bulimic,shooping in other towns so people she knows wont run into her.Then when she goes to college she meets another bulimic who turns anorexic and begins to scare Mary and when her friend dies she decides to get help on her eating disorder.

  • S01E02 A Deadly Secret: The Robert Bierer Story

    • August 8, 1992
    • HBO

    Robert Bierer recounts the times the he spend with his best friend the good ones and the not so good ones leading up to the tragidy that happened when his friend commited suicide and Robert talks on how you have to hold on for the sake of your friends and family.

  • S01E03 Public Law 106: The Becky Bell Story

    • August 15, 1992
    • HBO

    A pregnant 17-year-old, frustrated by Indiana's Public Law 106, which requires either parental consent or a judge's permission for an underage girl to have a legal abortion, suffers the tragic consequences of seeking one illegally.

  • S01E04 Gunplay: The Last Day in the Life of Brian Darling

    • September 19, 1992
    • HBO

    Describes the last day in the life of 10-year-old Brian Darling, who was accidentally shot to death while playing with a loaded handgun. The boy's father, John Darling, gives gun-safety tips.

  • S01E05 Blood Brothers: The Joey DiPaolo Story

    • September 26, 1992
    • HBO

    After an 11 yr old boy who has HIV is asked by his friends to put their hands together and share blood Joey becomes faced with telling his friends and his community ,who don't accept Joey and shune him out keeping their sons/daughters away from him fearing that their childern will also catch the virus but at the end they're blood brothers the safe way.

  • S01E06 No Visible Bruises: The Katie Koestner Story

    • January 12, 1993
    • HBO

    Katie a young college women who goes to a party becomes a victim of date rape twice while partying.

  • S01E07 More Than Friends: The Coming Out of Heidi Leiter

    • January 24, 1994
    • HBO

    Explore what happens after lesbian teens decide to go to the prom together and publically reveal their homosexuality which causes much controversy leading to them almost being kicked out of the prom because they were lesbians.

  • S01E08 Dead Drunk: The Kevin Tunell Story

    • March 15, 1993
    • HBO

    A young man is wracked by guilt after killing a girl in a drunk-driving accident several days before.

  • S01E09 A Body to Die For: The Aaron Henry Story

    • March 23, 1994
    • HBO

    A high school football player starts to use steroids in his game to become a better and stronger player leading to violence with his girlfriend and enemy's then talks about how he's had two heart attacks because of the use of steroids.

  • S01E10 Brotherly Love: The Trevor Ferrell Story

    • March 31, 1994
    • HBO

    A Philadelphia boy decides to become an advocate for the plight of the homeless and helps out two people who in return give some love but when one of his homeless friends gets killed by a hit and run and the other from cancer he opens a local homeless canter.

  • S01E11 A Child Betrayed: The Calvin Mire Story

    • April 11, 1994
    • HBO

    An altar boy is living the life but when he starts being sexually abused by the priest he finds out the other boys are too but they're to scared to tell their parents so after the boy whose 10 turns 15 he tells his parents sending him to jail and a lifetime of emotional scars for Calvin and other boys.

  • S01E12 Confronting Brandon: The Intervention of an Addict

    • May 20, 1994
    • HBO

    A teen's friends try to help him solve his problem of drug and alcohol abuse,while dealing with problems of his own at work,home and school.

  • S01E13 POWER: The Eddie Matos Story

    • July 12, 1994
    • HBO

    An inner-city teen from a broken home drops out of school to become a drug dealer, and ends up confined to a wheelchair after being shot by a rival.

  • S01E14 A Dangerous Affair

    • January 1, 1995
    • HBO

    After a brief affair, a college woman discovers that she is infected with HIV.

  • S01E15 Someone Had to Be Benny

    • February 8, 1996
    • HBO

    This is the story of Benny Agrelo, a terminally ill 15-year-old who fought to live the remainder of his life on his own terms. Benny decided to stop taking the drugs that helped his body accept a transplanted liver because they produced a number of excruciating side effects. After convincing his mother to let him live his last months ""without hurting,"" Benny was taken from his family by court order--and had to go to court to fight for the right to determine his own fate.