Home / Series / Taste the Nation (2009) / Aired Order /

All Seasons

Season 1

  • S01E01 Episode 1

    • March 16, 2009
    • ITV

    This first cook-off pits Cornwall against Nottinghamshire, and dishes include Cornish lobster and trout fishcake, with summery strawberry shortcake and Bakewell tart to follow.

  • S01E02 Episode 2

    • March 17, 2009

    Middlesex takes on Aberdeenshire, and judges Henrietta Green, William Sitwell and Richard Johnson must decide between the mouth-watering dishes prepared – Arbroath smokie, Aberdeen Angus steak, and Islington baked cheesecake made with home-grown ricotta.

  • S01E03 Episode 3

    • March 18, 2009

    Lancashire takes on North Yorkshire, and judges Henrietta Green, William Sitwell and Richard Johnson have a tough time deciding which of the dishes, including rib-eye of beef, Yorkshire lemon curd tart and Everton toffee ice cream, have the winning edge.

  • S01E04 Episode 4

    • March 19, 2009

    Glamorgan and Lincolnshire compete for the final spot in Friday’s second round, and the judges’ tastebuds are tested by dishes including prawn cocktail, sea bass with a Burry Estuary cockle dressing, Gower salt marsh lamb and Glamorgan honey ice cream.

  • S01E05 Episode 5

    • March 20, 2009

    All this week the teams have been battling to reach today’s Friday gourmet feast, and today the amateur chefs will not have the added advantage of preparing their chef captain’s recipes, but will have to come up with their own culinary ideas. To make things more interesting the judges take the day off, and a team of inspectors arrive – including a former director of the Michelin guides. Only two teams can go through to the next round.

  • S01E06 Episode 6

    • March 23, 2009

    Perthshire takes on Leicestershire and Rutland in an incredibly close competition. The judges must decide which of the mouth-watering offerings, including roast loin of Perthshire lamb, prosciutto wrapped saddle of rabbit, and plum bread and butter pudding with spiced pink champagne sorbet, is the worthy winner.

  • S01E07 Episode 7

    Cheshire competes with Wiltshire, and the menus include an exciting mix of traditional fare like Cheshire cheese and apple cake and ham hock cakes, alongside more contemporary dishes such as venison carpaccio and burnt custard with poached pears. Will everything go to plan for our amateurs?

  • S01E08 Episode 8

    Surrey v Suffolk, and regional ingredients feature strongly in dishes like Tillingbourne trout and Suffolk cure bacon. But judges Henrietta Greene, Richard Johnson and William Sitwell are divided. Nick Hancock hosts.

  • S01E09 Episode 9

    Today is the last chance this week to reach Friday’s cook off, and Graham Tinsley leads Carmarthenshire against Rosemary Shrager’s Northumberland team. Tempting the judge’s taste buds will be a cheese souffle, Northumberland lamb, and a cream liqueur chocolate tart.

  • S01E10 Episode 10

    We reach another Friday gourmet feast as the week’s eight teams are whittled down to four. Today the amateur chefs must come up with their own recipes, and the judges are replaced by a team of inspectors. The menus feature hare, loin of pork, wild duck and venison. Only two counties will go through to the next round.

  • S01E11 Episode 11

  • S01E12 Episode 12

  • S01E13 Episode 13

  • S01E14 Episode 14

  • S01E15 Episode 15

  • S01E16 Episode 16

  • S01E17 Episode 17

  • S01E18 Episode 18

  • S01E19 Episode 19

  • S01E20 Episode 20

  • S01E21 Episode 21

  • S01E22 Episode 22

  • S01E23 Episode 23

  • S01E24 Episode 24

  • S01E25 Episode 25

  • S01E26 Episode 26

  • S01E27 Episode 27

  • S01E28 Episode 28

  • S01E29 Episode 29

  • S01E30 Episode 30

    • April 24, 2009
    • ITV