Home / Series / The Ornamental Kitchen Garden / Aired Order /

All Seasons

Season 1

  • S01E01 Episode 1

    • September 28, 1990
    • BBC Two

    With gardens getting smaller and smaller, is there room to grow fruit and vegetables? Geoff Hamilton shows how a modern kitchen garden can be made without compromising its look and without resorting to chemicals.

  • S01E02 Episode 2

    • October 5, 1990
    • BBC Two

    Fencing around a small garden may seem claustrophobic. But as Geoff Hamilton finds out, fences and paths can provide a living setting for an attractive, productive garden.

  • S01E03 Episode 3

    • October 12, 1990
    • BBC Two

    In a garden designed to be beautiful as well as fruitful, two basic elements are essential: a greenhouse and paths. Geoff Hamilton shows that these can be fitted into the smallest garden.

  • S01E04 Episode 4

    • October 19, 1990
    • BBC Two

    A visit to the Marchioness of Salisbury's Elizabethan knot garden at Hatfield House inspires Geoff Hamilton to plant a parterre.

  • S01E05 Episode 5

    • October 26, 1990
    • BBC Two

    Pergolas and fruit arches are not only productive but also create valuable height in a young garden. Geoff Hamilton explains the practicalities, as well as how to achieve a natural balance of wildlife to keep the garden healthy.

  • S01E06 Episode 6

    • November 2, 1990
    • BBC Two

    Turnstiles, table tops and tulips are just some of the tree shapes that Geoff Hamilton investigates in the last programme in the series when he visits the Hatton Fruit Garden at East Mailing in Kent. Such elaborately trained fruit trees epitomise the philosophy of The Ornamental Kitchen Garden, namely that everything must be attractive as well as productive.