Home / Series / The Prisoner / Official Order /

All Seasons

Season 1

  • S01E01 Arrival

    • September 29, 1967

    After resigning, a secret agent finds himself trapped in a bizarre prison known only as The Village.

  • SPECIAL 0x1 Arrival (Original Edit)

    A preliminary edit of the first episode, "Arrival", was broadcast by accident on one PBS station in the 1970s. Although the original negative of this edit has been lost, a videotape copy was discovered and released on DVD in 2002. Among the major differences from the officially broadcast version: * Different theme music and differently edited opening credits (same as the alternate version of "Chimes of Big Ben.") * Slight differences in the sequence where No. 6 wakes up in the Village for the first time. * A longer version of the sequence where No. 6 tours The Village by taxi. * When Rover is introduced, it does not kill a villager as it does in the televised version. * Longer version of the sequence where No. 6's radio-controlled helicopter returns to the Village. * Different closing credits, ending with an image of Earth and the universe turning into the pennyfarthing bicycle logo. Also, Wilfred Josephs is credited as musical director.

  • S01E02 The Chimes of Big Ben

    • October 6, 1967

    A new Number 8 named Nadia arrives in The Village, and together Number 6 and she plot their escape.

  • SPECIAL 0x2 The Chimes of Big Ben (Original Edit)

    Pre-edit version of Chimes of Big Ben. Was reported to have aired in Canada. Different closing sequence.

  • S01E03 A. B. and C.

    • October 13, 1967

    Number 2 believes that Number 6 resigned because he was going to sell out. Using dream manipulation, Number 2 tries to determine which one of three possible candidates Number 6 was dealing with.

  • S01E04 Free for All

    • October 20, 1967

    Number 6 runs for the office of Number 2.

  • S01E05 The Schizoid Man

    • October 27, 1967

    Number Six wakes up with a new identity. Now he's Number Twelve. Worse, Number Two asks him to impersonate someone--Number Six. But the new Number Six is more like him than he is.

  • S01E06 The General

    • November 3, 1967

    An instant learning process becomes the Village's latest fad, but Number 6 is sure that Number 2 is using it as a brain washing tool.

  • S01E07 Many Happy Returns

    • November 10, 1967

    Number 6 wakes up to find the Village totally deserted.

  • S01E08 Dance of the Dead

    • November 17, 1967

    Number 6 comes across a body that has washed ashore with a radio. After sending the body back out to sea, he tries to use the radio to get rescued.

  • S01E09 Checkmate

    • November 24, 1967

    Inspired by a large chess game with people taking the place of the game pieces, Number 6 formulates a new escape plan with some compatriots.

  • S01E10 Hammer into Anvil

    • December 1, 1967

    Number 6 vows revenge and goes after a sadistic Number 2 after he drives a fellow village resident to her death.

  • S01E11 It's Your Funeral

    • December 8, 1967

    Number Six hears of an assassination plot against Number Two, but it's the new Number Two doing all the plotting against the retiring Number Two.

  • S01E12 A Change of Mind

    • December 15, 1967

    After a brawl Number 6 is declared "unmutual" and is made to think that he has undergone "instant social treatment."

  • S01E13 Do Not Forsake Me Oh My Darling

    • December 22, 1967

    With his mind transferred to another body, Number 6 wakes up in his London flat and can't convince his colleagues who he is. He takes off to Austria to find the one man who can help him, the person Number 2 wants him to find.

  • S01E14 Living in Harmony

    • December 29, 1967

    Number 6 finds himself in the middle of a wild west version of his imprisonment.

  • S01E15 The Girl Who Was Death

    • January 19, 1968

    Back in London, Number 6 is trying to track down a crazed scientist who is protected by his homicidal daughter.

  • S01E16 Once Upon a Time

    • January 26, 1968

    Because all other attempts to break Number 6 have failed, Number 2 decides to engage him in a game where one of them will end up dead.

  • S01E17 Fall Out

    • February 2, 1968

    After witnessing the trials of Number 2 and Number 48 and meeting the President of the Assembly, Number 6 escapes during the chaos that follows.