The Private Life of a Masterpiece

A BBC series dedicated to uncovering the forgotten secrets and hidden life histories of iconic works of art. It ran for 5 seasons from 2001 to 2006, for a total of 22 episodes; each episode was 50 minutes long. A 7-DVD box set of the first five series was released in 2007, which re-arranged the documentaries into genres from art history. Further episodes have been broadcast in 2006, 2009 and 2010.

English Deutsch
  • Series ID 74364
  • Status Ended
  • Airs Saturday, at 8:10pm
  • Networks BBC Two
  • Runtimes 50 minutes (35 episodes)
  • Genres Documentary
  • On Other Sites IMDB
  • Episode Screenshot Format 16:9 Screencap
  • Favorited This series has been favorited by 14 people.
  • Created February 4, 2008 by Administrator
  • Modified July 18, 2019 by Administrator

Featured Actors





Sign up now to find fans of your favorite movies and shows!


Absolute ordering places all episodes in a single ordered season. This is generally used for anime.